Energy, Catalysis, Environmental Sustainability, Functional Nanomaterials

Current Members

Principal Investigator

Principal Investigator

Sen Zhang

Dr. Sen Zhang grew up in Hefei, Anhui, China and received his B.Sc. in Polymer Chemistry at the University of Science and Technology of China in 2008 under advisor Dr. Shu-Hong Yu. He went on to receive his Ph.D. in inorganic chemistry in 2013 at Brown University under advisor Dr. Shouheng Sun. Professionally, he worked as a NatureNet postdoctoral fellow under Dr. Christopher Murray at the University of Pennsylvania from 2013 to 2016. He joined the University of Virginia in August 2016 and currently is an Associate Professor of Chemistry. In his spare time he enjoys photography, running, tennis, and basketball.  


Honors and Awards:  

2022 Sloan Research Fellowship, Alfred P. Sloan Foundation

2022 NSF CAREER Award, US National Science Foundation

2021 Research Excellence Award, University of Virginia  

2021 CAPA Distinguished Junior Faculty Award, Chinese-American Chemistry & Chemical Biology Professors Association (CAPA)     

2021 Scialog Collaborative Innovation Award for Negative Emissions Science, Research Corporation for Science Advancement and Alfred P. Sloan Foundation

2020 Rising Star 2020, Frontiers in Chemistry, Frontiers

2020 Emerging Investigator, Nanoscale, The Royal Society of Chemistry

2019 Emerging Investigator, Journal of Materials Chemistry A, The Royal Society of Chemistry 

2019 Sustainability Course Development Fellowship, University of Virginia  

2014  William R. Potter Prize for Doctoral Thesis of Outstanding Merit, Brown University      

2013-2016  NatureNet Postdoctoral Fellowship, The Nature Conservancy


Postdoctoral Fellows

Weijie Zhang

Postdoctoral Researcher

Graduate students

Bukuru Anaclet

Graduate Student

Chenxin Yang

Graduate Student

Liyue Zhang

Graduate Student

Perrin Godbold

Graduate Student

Shen-Wei Yu

Graduate Student

Tangi Akauola

Graduate Student

Undergraduate students

Paul Bean

Undergraduate Student

Tyler Arnold

Undergraduate Student

Shruti Elango

Undergraduate Student